Find The Win

We kicked off home school this morning by sharing “scrapbooks so far.”

Kids loved it!

+++

My early morning routine is a good example of applied psychology.

The routine incorporates…

  • a lot of winning
  • anticipation
  • a sense of purpose
  • a focus on “the clearly better”

I pay attention to “the clearly better” because it shows me where it is worth applying effort.

Worth repeating => When I choose, I spend effort, time and attention on things that leave an emotional taste of “clearly better.”

3:55am – The day started by waking up 5 minutes before my alarm, which makes me happy.

I’ve been going to bed at the same time as my kids so waking up 2.5 hours before them is cake.

4:00am – I’m downstairs and every single light on my main floor is switched on. Up Before The Enemy – we haven’t had any prowler reports before 6am. I give the bad guys an incentive to skip my house.

4:05am – Third win of the morning is a mug of coffee. I set the coffee up the afternoon before so I can look forward to it.

My Skull Mug is reserved for my toughest sessions and is hand painted by our youngest. I have another one from our oldest that says #1 Dad.

The difference between the best coffee I can buy and the cheapest is ~20c per day

4:30am – This morning was a lot of step ups.

I am my son’s margin of safety in the mountains => this knowledge motivates my prep

4:45am – Fat Boy Slim’s Right Here, Right Now comes on. I remember Okanagan Lake and a morning in August many years ago. Looking across the lake in the best shape of my life.

Pushing to the finish many years ago => I’m not that skinny in my memory!

5:00am – Decide I might want to remember my session, it was a lot of step ups… send my wife a text to come and take of picture of me.

Monica has been waking up in the “4”s during lockdown and looks absolutely fabulous when she arrives (Team Win!).

5:45am – My workout wraps up and I head upstairs to eat some muesli.

I prepared the muesli yesterday so I’d having something to look forward to while grinding out my step ups. While I advise people to be careful about setting up the exercise-sugar reward cycle, I’m not above motivating myself with a special breakfast.

Wake up, lights, coffee, music, workout, wife and breakfast => Seven Wins Before 6am

The only person who can screw up my morning win-fest is myself.

Attitude is Everything