Courageous, Uplifting, Funny or Useful

Each Wednesday at 11am, my wife and I lift weights. Hitting “the big steel” is a time-effective way for us to check in with each other.

This week, I blasted myself with leg press (525 lbs, not bad for a skinny guy), pull ups and front squats. So I was very relaxed during our post session coffee break. Very gently, she let me know that my writing had been a little heavy. Readers would have noticed a month-long purgue of everything that’s been on my mind.

A kite-surfing buddy had sent me a note to similar effect earlier in the week. Generally speaking, he has a rule against offering advice but he bent his rule to send me three words, “let it go.”

I have a rule that when two close friends tell me something…

…pause, consider and pay attention.

A quick review of my drafts folder made me laugh out loud. Here’s what’s in the hopper:

  • Anabolic steroids
  • Anger management
  • Death
  • Benefits of higher education
  • Emotional blindness
  • Making money from leverage
  • Making serious money (from other people’s money)
  • Tax reform
  • Mitt’s IRA
  • Becoming emotionally untouchable
  • Screwing up my son
  • Feminine Beauty
  • Gordo’s gratitude list
  • How I lost $20,000,000
  • Overcoming guilt
  • Family strategic review template
  • Problems of the elderly
  • Coping with successful friends
  • Happy toddlers
  • How to give a time out
  • Gangsters and frauds
  • Difficult conversations
  • Conditional love
  • New, old, ancient, nature
  • Embracing volatility
  • Travel and tribalism
  • The free-est man I know

I might have to postpone publication of a few topics!

She said, “hey, it’s spring and it’s been a tough winter. I want to be uplifted. See if you can help me out.”

I’ve often said that we can use our (super)powers for good, or for evil. She’s asking me to help-a-sister-out. I’ve been hitting her, and you, with a lot of serious stuff.

As a parent, I shoot for nine positive interactions for each correction I need to give my daughter. People stop listening if we go all negative.

So for April, I’m going to give it a shot. Courageous, uplifting, funny or useful.

I’m also going to take a break from pro cycling and the twitter feeds of the haters. I’ve been dipping into the feeds of the angry – seems that this is not good for me (especially when my training volume is low).

To offer moral support, my wife’s taking a month off Facebook.

Now off to ride on a beautiful day in Boulder.