A Perfect Day

In January, I was given a gift that most parents (with three kids under five) never receive, a week alone in Hawaii.

I knew this might be my only week alone this year.

I had to make it count!

It took me a few days to create the Perfect Day. Here’s what it contains:

  • Train twice
  • Ride bike uphill
  • Espresso
  • Cold room for sleeping
  • Reading and writing
  • Quiet time

To create this day, I had to say “no” quite a bit, mostly to my training buddy but also to myself.

This day would lose it’s lustre over time because it is missing love, service and connection to others. However, I can bring this day back to the real world and include my family.

It is nearly impossible for me to recall serenity. Stress is much more salient. I have to trust my past self when he sends advice to my future self!

Social media, cable and group think are not about serenity – they are about triggering envy, fear and anger.

I explained my list to my wife and she asked me, “what about me?”

She didn’t remember that 72 hours earlier I asked her to write out her perfect week.

I forget too.

When you have moments of clarity, write them down.